Ask the Official - Week 1
September 2 - 8, 2011

The USA Hockey Rulebook and Playing Rules Casebook can be found on the Officials page atwww.usahockey.com.
 
Answers to other questions may be found at the Officials page atwww.usahockey.com.
 
Thank you for all your submissions.If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us atasktheofficial@usahockey.org.


QUESTION: I was wondering if it is legal to wear a clear hanging goalie neck guard while skating as a player. If a player wears one and it swings around it makes me worry about my safety and other players. I have asked this question all around and always recieve a different answer and was hoping you could straighten this out.

ANSWER:  A player may not wear a goalkeeper’s neck guard during a game. The clear, hard plastic neck guard is designed to be worn by goalkeepers and not players. This is similar to other pieces of equipment that goalkeepers have the privilege of wearing while defending the goal (skates, facemask, etc.), but may not wear while playing as a forward.


QUESTION: Can an official wear a tinted visor?

ANSWER: While the use of a tinted visor does not fall directly within the list of approved officiating equipment for USA Hockey Officials, USA Hockey does recognize the safety that visors provide and strongly encourages all officials to wear one. Therefore, if tinted visors are the only type of visor available to the official then USA Hockey would opt for this type of protection rather than no protection at all.


QUESTION: We had a game the other day and the opposing team got 16 penalties including a Match Pentalty for attempt to injure. Does the coach get suspended for one game? Also, what will happen to the player?

ANSWER: Since all forms of discipline are handled by the coach’s and player’s State Affiliate we are unable to accurately answer this question. We encourage you to contact your local Affiliate for more insight into the discipline process in your area.


QUESTION: In a Bantam game we had a player checked into the boards who was injured and laid on the ice for about three minutes and  once he was removed from the ice he did not return to the game until the next period. The officials called a Minor Boarding penalty. Is this the proper call, or should this have been a major plus a game misconduct because the illegal act caused an injury?

ANSWER: Rule 603(b) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,

“A major penalty plus game misconduct penalty shall be assessed to any player who injures an opponent as a result of boarding.”

Furthermore, an injury does not have to occur for a Major Penalty to be assessed for a flagrant Boarding violation.


QUESTION: I currently use yellow waxed laces in my skates as a player. Would these be acceptable to wear as an official?

ANSWER: Yellow laces are not acceptable for any official to wear while working games. However, if the official is a player then he should remember that it only take a few minutes to change laces in the locker room before a game or practice.

